Driver's Education

test photo

**2017-18 School Year registration deadline: Sept. 12**

Driver's Education training is for students who are 15 years or older at the time of the class. If space allows, 14-year-olds may be allowed to enroll. Enrollment will be determined strictly by birth date. Students with the earliest birth dates will have first option to take the class. Your fee includes 30 hours of classroom instruction, followed by 6 hours of behind the wheel. The State of Minnesota requires that students are 15 years of age in order to take a permit test. Students who take the class when they are 14 years of age will not receive their blue card until they turn 15. Total cost for this course is $300. (If payments need to be made, a minimum of $50 is due at the time of registration and the remainder due before a blue card will be issued.) The behind-the-wheel portion of Driver's Education will be scheduled closer to the time of the student's eligibility to take their driving test (Minnesota law requires they be at least 16 years of age and have held their permit for a minimum of 6 months.) Attendance to all classes is mandatory. Limit 30.

TO REGISTER

Please fill out a Driver's Education Registration form (paper copies also available at the Lincoln Education Center and Detroit Lakes High School).

After the registration deadline, we will contact you to let you know the status of your child's registration (please note: students with the earliest birth date will have the first option to enroll in open sessions and each session is limited to 30 students.) 

If you have any questions regarding your child's driver's education enrollment or to set up a payment plan, please call 847-4418.